Designed by William Le Baron Jenney and named after U.S. Senator Stephen A. Douglas, Douglas Park was opened to the public in 1879. In 1905, Jens Jensen made further improvements to the park, including Flower Hall at the corner of Ogden Avenue and Sacramento Boulevard.
Over the years, the park has contained amenities such as a conservatory, outdoor gymnasium, and natatorium. The iconic field house, designed by architects Michaelsen and Rognstad, was added in 1928.
Douglas Park has seen many changes, but it continues to be a hub of activity on Chicago’s West Side. From The soccer fields and tennis courts to the picturesque lagoons, to the cultural center housed in the field house, as well as the West Side Music Festival, there is always something happening in Douglas Park.